Software Development Lifecycle - Then and Now

Software Development Lifecycle - Then and Now

In the 1960s, the software development life cycle (SDLC) became a formalized framework for software development. That is approximately when information programs began to exist. The SDLC, with its loosely described development phases, has become a common software development concept.

In this article, we'll look at what SDLC entails. We'll also look at how these SDLC models have evolved and compare them to what they are today.

What is Software development lifecycle?

What is the lifecycle of app development?

The SDLC assists in ensuring that high-quality software is designed and distributed to end customers in a timely and cost-effective manner. The methods you use to assess the quality of your software can vary, but general metrics include:

  • The software's functionality's robustness
  • Overall effectiveness
  • Protection is paramount
  • Finally, consider the user experience.

Phases of SDLC

SDLC consists of seven main stages:

Planning, Systems Analysis & Requirements,

Systems Design, development, integration & testing, as well as implementation, operations & maintenance


It is often referred to as project inception. This is the start of the software development process, which involves high-level talks about schedules, personnel, and deadlines.

Systems Analysis & Requirements:

Often known as requirements description or requirements review. During this process, you will obtain a broad understanding of how the whole system would work. During this process, you can also establish a collection of formal (or informal) specifications.

Systems Design:

Often known as software design or architecture concept. During this step, you will design the technical architecture of the system based on the specifications specified during the research. This process also includes technological experimentation and prototype creation.


Often known as construction or coding. This is where you will write the code to meet the specifications.

Integration & Testing:

Often known as device validation or quality assurance. This is where you can monitor the machine and ensure it does what you expect it to do.


Fielding is another term for it. This process is concerned with supplying a functioning framework to the consumer. If the machine was built to run on the customer's hardware, you'd need to mount and validate it.

Operations & maintenance:

During this process, you will fix any bugs discovered when using the framework and add any new functionality requested by the consumer.

Application of SDLC to Software Development Models

Software production has often found ways to blend or shorten SDLC stages. Over time, architecture methods have sought to integrate technical advancements. Let's look at how this concept is used with the more popular development models.


The waterfall paradigm is characterized by a linear sequence of production tasks. The waterfall model's key limitation is its inability to deliver smaller, individually testable device components. NASA created a new architecture paradigm that allows for the development of smaller chunks of functionality at a time. As the need for rapid distribution rises, the waterfall paradigm has become more troublesome.

It is one of the less iterative and flexible methods in software development since change moves in essentially one direction ("downwards" like a waterfall) through the processes of creation, initiation, study, planning, construction, testing, deployment, and maintenance.

When NASA was working on the Mercury mission, the mission parameters changed often. What did the team members do? They abandoned the waterfall model in favour of a different development model that enabled them to provide smaller pieces of features at a time. This was referred to as the Iterative method.


Iterative software creation is the process of creating a software structure by repeating loops (iterations). It enables developers to benefit from previous iterations and make modifications to future iterations.

Smaller parts (also known as narrow scope) aid in the containment of uncertainty and the reduction of risk.

Developers can provide more features by repeating development cycles and providing functionality to users in smaller, more regular chunks. The SDLC model can be thought of as a series of smaller waterfalls, with each component being shorter and less complex, resulting in a much lower risk for the whole project.


In the early 2000s, technological advances made modifying standards an actual necessity for software production. Individually testable modules that are compact and easy to install have become the standard.

Agile software architecture encourages agile planning, organic development, timely execution, and quality improvement.

According to Mark Higgs, this is what the Agile paradigm has taken to the table for developers and administrators. The author is the founder and CEO of Higgs Tech, a San Francisco-based software development firm. The business produces applications for some sectors.


DevOps manages all aspects of app creation. The code update is incorporated into the code baseline, which is designed, tested, and deployed.

DevOps guarantees that the framework for automated testing is in place each time the team releases new code. New technologies like Retrace support development companies in automating certain development processes and gaining real-time visibility into the codebase.


The agile growth paradigm and DevOps contradict the conventional SDLC stages. Detailed criteria description has shifted from complex graphs to the code itself. Since integration and monitoring have been streamlined, they have now been a part of the deployment process. The new SDLC has progressed as the boundaries between its phases have blurred.

  • Share:

Comments (0)

Write a Comment